Sister Dorothy Moore and Donald Marshall Senior Scholarship Winners

Each year on Treaty Day we recognize post secondary students for their hard work and determination with two awards.

As a gesture of reconciliation during the 2011 Truth and Reconciliation event held in Halifax, the Government of Nova Scotia announced the creation of an annual scholarship fund to assist Mi’kmaq people studying full time in a recognized teacher certification program.

Mi’kmaw Kina’matnewey named the scholarship program after Sister Dorothy Moore, an educator and respected elder who has devoted her life to enhancing educational opportunities for Mi’kmaq people.

The objective of the Donald Marshall Sr. Memorial Scholarship Fund is to support Mi’kmaw post- secondary students at the diploma, certificate, bachelor and graduate level in their field of study.

Each year, the Donald Marshall Sr. Memorial Scholarship Fund contributes scholarships designated for undergraduate studies and graduate studies.

Students who are recognized with this award have achieved their educational goals in spite of any barriers they have had to overcome. They recognize the importance of our culture and are active within their communities.

Congratulations to all of our award winners:

Shawnee Paul – Sister Dorothy Moore

Katelyn Francis – Sister Dorothy Moore

Angie Stevens – Sister Dorothy Moore

Keeshia Bernard – Sister Dorothy Moore

Tamara Cremo- Sister Dorothy Moore

Pamela Paul-Francis – Sister Dorothy Moore

Jeneva Dennis – Donald Marshall Sr.

Cody Julian – Donald Marshall Sr.

Charise McDonald – Donald Marshall Sr

Dawson Trimper – Donald Marshall Sr.

Lauren Francis – Donald Marshall Sr.