MK Sports Awards Banquet and Inaugural Mi’kmaq Sport Hall of Fame Induction

On Saturday November 5, 2016, the inaugural Nova Scotia Mi’kmaw Sport Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held at the Hampton Inn in Millbrook NS.

The event was held as part of the Annual Sports Awards Banquet, where male and female athlete and coach of the year are recognized for their efforts and achievements.

This year the induction included eight members – four athletes and four builders. 

This year’s inductees and award winners are as follows:

Russell Marshall
Wallace Bernard
Joe B Marshall
Peter Julian

Sara-Lynn Knockwood
Seymour Doucette
Jim Maloney
Hank Peters

Male Athlete of the year
Leon Denny Jr.

Female Athlete of the year
Selena Denny

Male Coach of the year
Levi Denny Sr.

Female Coach of the year
Angie Gillis