Mi’kmaw Kina’matnewey Celebrates Second Annual Awards Banquet

On Wednesday June 8, 2016, Mi’kmaw Kina’matnewey held its second annual awards banquet in celebration of the success of both students and staff. The awards presented at the banquet were the Chief Noel Doucette Award, the Mi’kmaw Language Award, The Kji Keptin Alex Denny Memorial Sports/Ed Award, and Employee Service Awards.

The Chief Noel Doucette award was created by the Board of Directors in memory of Chief Noel Doucette, the first Chairperson of Mi’kmaw Kina’matnewey and a strong advocate for Mi’kmaw education and the preservation of the Mi’kmaw language and culture. This award goes to a student who does their best to promote and celebrate Mi’kmaw language and culture.

The Mi’kmaw Language Award goes to a student who has the highest mark in their Mi’kmaw language class OR to a student who uses and promotes the use of Mi’kmaw both inside and outside of their class.

The Kji Keptin Alex Denny Memorial Sports/Ed Award goes to a graduating student who best combines sports and academics during the school year.


The Employee Awards recognize the staff that have worked at Mi’kmaw Kina’matnewey for 10 years or more as well as staff who have completed a degree program or designation in the past year.


Chief Noel Doucette Award Recipients

Jayson Surette - Acadia

Samantha Brown - Annapolis Valley

Alexander Denny - ABMHS Eskasoni

Bella Paul - Eskasoni Immersion

Jada Paul - Membertou

Ethan Francis - Pictou Landing

Nolan Marshall -Potlotek

Michael Willis - Sipekne’katik

Ryan Martin- Wagmatcook

Kendra Phillips - We’koqma’q


Mi’kmaw Language Award Recipients

Angus Stevens - Acadia

Rose Meuse - Bear River

Nolan Denny- ABMHS Eskasoni

Elle Taylor Gould - Eskasoni Immersion

Neve Nicholas - Membertou

Riley Logan Prosper - Pictou Landing

Henry Isaac - Potlotek

Riley Howe- Sipekne’katik

Brylen Cremo - We’koqma’q


Gavin Michael - Wagmatcook


Kji Keptin Alex Denny Memorial Sports/Ed Award Recipients

Breagh Laing -  Acadia 

Levi Denny Jr. - Eskasoni


Employee Award Recipients


Lauretta Welsh - 20 years